News‎ > ‎

June 2013 Newsletter

posted Jun 4, 2013, 2:17 PM by ALAS deNuevoMéxico   [ updated Jun 4, 2013, 2:48 PM ]

La Consecha Pre-Conference Planning

A committee has been working to prepare for the ALAS de NM Leadership Institute on Nov. 6, a pre-conference workshop that will take place in conjunction with the 18th annual La Consecha Conference at the Hyatt Regency. The pre-conference, which is expected to attract up to 150 people, will center on legal issues, policy and advocacy with a focus on English Learners through the cultural proficiency lens. The committee is working on finding sponsors. National ALAS Executive Director Veronica Rivera and President-Elect Dr. Thelma Melendez will be speakers at the La Consecha conference. To get involved, contact Theresa Archuleta at archuleta_t@aps.edu.

Go here for more information on La Consecha Dual Language Conference

New Mexico Coalition for School Administrators

ALAS de NM is seeking to become an affiliate member of the New Mexico Coalition for School Administrators. We will present at the Coalition’s conference from 4-5 p.m. on Thursday, July 25 at the Hyatt Regency. 

Go here for more information on the NMCSA Conference

Fundraising

ALAS de NM is looking at several sponsor options. Members who might know of organizations that would be willing to support ALAS de NM are asked to contact Diego Gallegos at dgallegos303@comcast.net.

Board Elections

The interim board is preparing for board elections. Members who might be interested in running for a position on the board are encouraged to contact Interim Presidents Anthony Griego at griego_a@aps.edu or Mario Zuniga mario.zuniga@mesavista.org.

Board Minutes

The approved minutes from the March Interim Board Meeting are now posted to the website.

Go here to read the minutes

National ALAS Convention in Denver

Save the Date – 10th Annual ALAS Education Summit Oct. 16-19, 2013 in Denver, Colorado.

Go here for more information

Recruiting New Members

Know someone who might be interested in joining our organization? Send them to our website at ALASdeNM.net where they can get more information and sign up. Membership is free for now.

Are You Social?

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter @ALASdeNM

Contact Us

Email us at alasdenm@gmail.com or contact our interim board members:
Co-President Anthony Griego - griego_a@aps.edu
Co-President Mario Zuniga - mario.zuniga@mesavista.k12.nm.us
Vice President James Lujan - JALUJAN@sfps.info
Treasurer Ray Trejo - ray.trejo@demingps.org
Secretary Jacqueline Costales - costales@aps.edu
Publicist/Historian Johanna King - king_joh@aps.edu
Member-at-Large Chris Sanchez - sanchez_chris@aps.edu
Advisor: Eddie Soto - soto_e@aps.edu
Advisor: Yvonne Garcia - garcia_y@aps.edu
Advisor: Martin Sandoval - sandoval_mc@aps.edu

 

Comments