News‎ > ‎

March 2013 Newsletter

posted Mar 8, 2013, 10:36 AM by ALAS deNuevoMéxico

ALAS de Nuevo México Newsletter

March  2013


Volunteers Wanted to Help Plan Workshop

We have been invited to host a daylong pre-conference workshop on Nov. 5 in conjunction with La Consecha Dual Language Conference Nov. 6-9 in Albuquerque. The workshop will include a session on cultural proficiency and round table discussions. Volunteers are needed to help plan with planning. If interested, contact Theresa Archuleta at archuleta_t@aps.edu by the end of the month.

Volunteers Wanted to Help Present at the NMABE Conference in April

ALAS de NM will have the opportunity to share information about our organization during the New Mexico Association for Bilingual Education State Bilingual Conference April 25-27 at the Embassy Suites in Albuquerque. If you’re interested in helping prepare and/or participate in this presentation, contact Diego Gallegos at dgallegos303@comcast.net.

Interim Board Seeks Input on Strategic Goals

The Interim board, in order to facilitate a smooth transition for the first elected board, is working on developing strategic goals. The goals being discussed for the organization are:

·         Promote Latino Leadership

·         Education Equity

·         Advocating Educational Policy

·         Building Latino Leadership Capacity

·         Strategic Partnerships

The board would like membership input on these goals. Please sent suggestions and concerns to interim board co-presidents Anthony Griego at griego_a@aps.edu and Mario Zuniga at Mario Zuniga (mario.zuniga@mesavista.org) (mario.zuniga@mesavista.org).

Minutes from the January and February Interim Board Meetings

The approved minutes from the January and February Interim Board Meetings are now posted to the ALAS de NM website.

Go here to read the minutes

Recruiting New Members

Know someone who might be interested in joining our organization? Send them to our website at ALASdeNM.net where they can get more information and sign up. Membership is free for now.

Upcoming Events  

CO-ALAS (Colorado Association of Latino/a Administrators and Superintendents) annual conference in April 13 in Denver 

NMABE (New Mexico Association for Bilingual Education) State Bilingual Conference April 25-27 at the Embassy Suites in Albuquerque.

The ALAS National Summit in Denver Oct. 16-19

 La Cosecha Dual Language Conference in November 6-9 in Albuquerque 

National ALAS Recognizes APS Superintendent as Outstanding Educator The Association of Latino Administrators and Superintendents (ALAS) Board of Directors recognized Albuquerque Public Schools Superintendent Winston Brooks with an Outstanding Educator Award at its 8th Annual ALAS Recognition Reception in February.

Go here to read more.

Are You Social?

 Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter @ALASdeNM

Contact Us

Email us at alasdenm@gmail.com or contact our interim board members:
Co-President Anthony Griego - griego_a@aps.edu
Co-President Mario Zuniga - mario.zuniga@mesavista.k12.nm.us
Vice President James Lujan - JALUJAN@sfps.info
Treasurer Ray Trejo - ray.trejo@demingps.org
Secretary Jacqueline Costales - costales@aps.edu
Publicist/Historian Johanna King - king_joh@aps.edu
Member-at-Large Chris Sanchez - sanchez_chris@aps.edu
Advisor: Eddie Soto - soto_e@aps.edu
Advisor: Yvonne Garcia - garcia_y@aps.edu
Advisor: Martin Sandoval - sandoval_mc@aps.edu

Comments